Some things that you can’t help doing

I posted last December 3 that I would read one page or one poem a day from Lang Leav’s Love & Misadventure. There are times when an individual can’t help do something that they know they should not do. So, I hate to admit it, but I kind of cheated on that one. I have failed myself. I was supposed to STRICTLY follow that, and it shows I have no self control whatsoever.

Anyway, since it’s out there, I cheated, and I am now on the 39th page, it happens to be a poem I can really really relate to.

I turn away

and close my heart –

to the promise of love

that is luring.

For the past has taught

not to be caught,

in what is not worth pursuing –

To never do

the things I’ve done

that once had led

to my undoing.

Afraid To Love, Lang Leav

I guess it’s not just about loving that special someone. It’s really loving – in general. I like to be closed off, and sometimes keep myself from loving something – sometimes even just liking something – that I know can potentially hurt in the end.Β This is why I love things that I know cannot hurt me, such as loving books, music, and celebrities – because they make you happy but you don’t expect them to love you back.Β It may sound a little, I don’t know – sad?Β I guess, I’m just not a huge fan of getting hurt, I mean who is?

So, that was my way of avoiding things that can potentially make me happy but I get so scared that I run away from it in the end. An individual’s heart can only take so much pain.

So here’s a song that I’ve been obsessing from the day I heard it on The Voice.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Some things that you can’t help doing

  1. Pingback: Close The Crazy Heart (poem) | A tale of a t-rex

Leave a Reply

