Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction: Philippines

Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction: Philippines

Write about whatever you’d like, but write using regional slang, your dialect, or in your accent.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LOCAL.

From: Daily Post

The beautiful pink flower is called a Gumamela.
This shot was taken in Davao and was taken with Samsung PL150, I think? I forgot but it’s a DualView digital camera.

Okay, so my vernacular is tagalog. Although, I was raised in an environment wherein my siblings and I were asked to practice english because it is the universal language. Also, I’m terrible at speaking in tagalog. I can’t really understand the deep words such as ‘napayukayok’ or ‘humilig’ and stuff from Florante at Laura or Ibong Adarna. I can’t even count or tell the time in tagalog, cause it’s really difficult. An example of this is – Alas Siyete – I don’t even think I spelled it right. So here goes nothing..

Noong nakaraang pasko, bumisita kami sa tatay ng aking kapatid. Nakatira ang buong pamilya niya sa Davao at Cotabato, kaya naisipan naming magbakasyon doon para maiba naman yung paraan ng pagdiriwang(?) namin ng pasko. Malayo sa usok na dala ng mga paputok (fireworks) at ingay ng mga torotot.

Hindi kami nagkamali sa pagpunta sa Davao at Cotabato. Napakaganda at napakalinis doon kumpara sa Metro Manila. Dahil doon strikto ang kanilang pinuno (leader) at makakahinga ka ng malalim.

Isa itong larawan sa mga binisita naming ‘tourist spot’ sa Davao. Eden’s Park ang pangalan ng lugar, at doon, makikita mo ang iba’t ibang klaseng halaman, and para na itong paraiso.

Okay, I’ve finally run out of tagalog words. It is difficult, writing in english every single day, and reading english books, listening to english music, and often speaking in english. It’s not that I don’t appreciate my own language or dialect, but ever since I was a kid, people around me would only speak english. I just learned tagalog from our helpers at home and when I went to school.
This is true, not only for me, but for most of the kids in a whole generation after me. This is why koreans, chinese, or japanese individuals would come to Philippines to learn english, but *now it is Singapore who is very proficient in English.

So that is it.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction: Philippines

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Non-Regional Diction | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s Vernacular Spectacular! | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Rashmi Rathi (with translation) : Best hindi poem | Processing the life

  4. Pingback: Talking Australian English… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

